We’re really delighted to be announcing the shortlist of alums who’ve been nominated to receive one of the Sutton Trust’s three alumni awards in 2020. Our nominees span a range of industries, ages, and projects but all have one thing in common – they are exceptional young people who are going above and beyond to make a difference in their communitiesand across the UK.  

The judges for the awards are Tina Hene (Fellow of the Sutton Trust), and Joel Mullan and Stephanie Burrell (members of our Alumni Leadership Board). We will be announcing the award winners at our annual alumni celebration event on Friday 4 September – alums can register here.   

The Sutton Trust alumni award for social mobility will go to the alum who demonstrates significant achievements in initiatives that work to champion social mobility. In this category, the shortlisted alums are:  

  • Iqra Ali, for her work to champion access to the legal profession
  • Amy Bottomley, for work to relaunch JCR access and admissions at St John’s College, Cambridge as well as work there on access campaigns 
  • Daniel Dipper, for providing various forms of support for year 11 and 12 students, and his advisory role and media support for a significant number of charities 
  • Anna-Louise Thomond, for work advising the Trust on the legal sector, and driving forward organisational change at her work  
  • Paige Tugby, for initiative in establishing support for law students 
  • Alex Roberts, for work on the Cambridge Access Movement 

The Sutton Trust alumni coronavirus response award will go to the alum who demonstrates significant achievements in response the coronavirus crisis. In this category, the shortlisted alums are: 

  • Louis Dexter, for co-running the petition for the #honourtheoffer campaign at Emma College, Cambridge  
  • Liam Whitton, for leading the #honourtheoffer campaign, which resulted in widespread media coverage and significant policy shifts  
  • Maurice Yap, for creating an app called Linguist Aid, which connects volunteers who speak foreign language with mutual aid groups 

The Sutton Trust alumni outstanding achievement award will go to the alum who has demonstrated exceptional achievements across any field. In this category, the shortlisted alums are:  

  • Sam Andrews, for being awarded a significant ESRC New Investigator Grant at the age of 27 
  • Chloe Branton, for being one of the youngest people in the country for being called and practicing as a pupil barrister 
  • Ella Mae Lewis, for winning a prestigious Winston Churchill Memorial fellowship 
  • Temi Mwale, for work in racial justice, including leading the 4Front Project 
  • Kike Oniwinde, for work as the CEO and founder of the BYP network 

We wanted to thank everyone who submitted nominations and to wish all our shortlisted alums the best of luck for the awards on 4 September. The Sutton Trust is proud to have such a distinguished alumni community and we’re pleased to be able to recognise our alumni in this way.  

Note that current Alumni Leadership Board members are unable to be recognised for these awards.  

Media enquiries

If you're a journalist with a question about our work, get in touch with Hilary or Ruby. If it's out of office hours, you can call or text 07917 462 164.

E: [email protected] T: 020 7802 1660

Keep up to date with the latest news