School and university backgrounds for Ministers attending Cabinet – Sunak November 2023

Name	Ministerial responsibility	School type	School	University
Rishi Sunak	Prime Minister	Independent	Winchester College	Oxford
Oliver Dowden	Deputy Prime Minister; Secretary of State in the Cabinet Office; Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster	Comprehensive	Partimer's School, Hertfordshire	Cambridge
Jeremy Hunt	Chancellor of the Exchequer	Independent	Charterhouse School, Godalming	Oxford
David Cameron	Foreign Office	Independent	Eton College	Oxford University of West
James Cleverly	Home Office	Independent	Colfe's School, Greenwich	London (formerly Thames Valley University)
Grant Shapps	Defence	Grammar	Watford Grammar School for Boys	Manchester Polytechnic
Alex Chalk	Lord Chancellor; Secretary of State for Justice	Independent	Winchester College	Oxford
Michelle Donelan	Science, Innovation and Technology	Comprehensive	The Country High School, Leftwich	York
Michael Gove	Levelling Up, Housing and Communities	Independent	Robert Gordon's College, Aberdeen	Oxford
Victoria Atkins	Health and Social Care	Independent	Arnold School, Blackpool	Cambridge
Penny Mordaunt	Lord President of the Council; Leader of the House of Commons	Comprehensive	Oaklands Comprehensive School, London	Reading
Lord True	Lord Privy Seal; Leader of the House of Lords Business and Trade;	Independent	Nottingham High School	Sheffield
Kemi Badenoch	President of the Board of Trade; Women and Equalities	International	International	Sussex
Claire Coutinho	Energy Security and Net Zero Environment, Food and	Independent	James Allen's Girls King Edward VII School,	Oxford
Steve Barclay	Rural Affairs	Independent	Lytham St. Annes	Cambridge
Mel Stride	Work and Pensions	Grammar	Portsmouth Grammar School	Oxford
Gillian Keegan	Education	Comprehensive	St Augustine of Canterbury Secondary School	Liverpool John Moores
Mark Harper	Transport	Comprehensive	Headlands Comprehensive School	Oxford
Lucy Frazer	Culture, Media and Sport	Independent	Leeds Girls High	Cambridge
Richard Holden	Minister without Portfolio	Grammar	Ermysted Grammar School	London School of Economics
Chris Heaton-Harris	Northern Ireland	Grammar	Tiffin School, Kingston upon Thames	Wolverhampton
Alister Jack	Scotland	Independent	Glenalmond College	Heriot-Watt

David T C Davies	Wales	Comprehensive	Bassaleg Comprehensive	N/A
				Royal Agricultural
Simon Hart	Chief Whip	Independent	Radley College	College, Cirencester
	Chief Secretary to the			
Laura Trott	Treasury	Grammar	Oxted School	Oxford
			Malvern St James Girls'	
Victoria Prentis	Attorney General	Independent	School	Cambridge
	Minister for the Cabinet		King Edward's School,	
John Glen	Office; Paymaster General	Independent	Bath	Oxford
	Minister without Portfolio			Queen Mary
Esther McVey	in the Cabinet Office	Independent	Belvedere School	University, London
	Minister of State (Minister			
	for Immigration), Home		Wolverhampton Grammar,	
Robert Jenrick	Office	Independent	Wolverhampton	Cambridge
Tom Tugendhat	Minister of State, Security	Independent	St Paul's School, London	Bristol
	Minister of State (Minister			
	of Development), Foreign			
Andrew Mitchell	Office	Independent	Rugby School	Cambridge
	Minister for the Armed			Royal Military
	Forces and Veterans in the			Academy,
Johnny Mercer	Cabinet Office	Independent	Eastbourne College	Sandhurst*